Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Review: As Night Falls by Jenny Milchman

Summary:

From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snowcomes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family—a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

Sandy Tremont has always tried to give her family everything. But, as the sky darkens over the Adirondacks and a heavy snowfall looms, an escaped murderer with the power to take it all away draws close.

In her isolated home in the shadowy woods, Sandy prepares dinner after a fight with her daughter, Ivy. Upstairs, the fifteen-year-old—smart, brave, and with every reason to be angry tonight—keeps her distance from her mother. Sandy’s husband, Ben, a wilderness guide, arrives late to find a home simmering with unease.

Nearby, two desperate men on the run make their way through the fading light, bloodstained and determined to leave no loose ends or witnesses. After almost twenty years as prison cellmates, they have become a deadly team: Harlan the muscle, Nick the mind and will. As they approach a secluded house and look through its windows to see a cozy domestic scene, Nick knows that here he will find what he’s looking for . . . before he disappears forever.

Opening the door to the Tremont home, Nick brings not only a legacy of terror but a secret that threatens to drag Sandy with him into the darkness.

Publication Date: June 30, 2015


Home abduction books scare the heck out of me! The scenario plays on some of my worst fears and I find the subject really difficult to read about. However, As Night Falls had me on the edge of my seat and I couldn’t wait to see who made it out of the house alive.

The setting was typical of home invasion books: the family lives in an isolated area with limited means of getting help when danger arrives. When two escaped convicts take the Tremonts hostage, the family is on their own in a fight for survival.

The characters were good and I liked that the chapters were told in alternating POVs between Sandy and Nick. The reader was able to get the perspective of both victim and villain. Sandy’s daughter Ivy was an irritating character, but she grew on me eventually.

I like psychological suspense books, but the pace felt a little slow for me at times. I was gripped most of the time, but there were sections where I didn’t feel as much intensity as the circumstances required.

The twist was unexpected and I didn’t see it coming. The conclusion was fairly good and I liked that the book could be read as a standalone. The author has several other thrillers set in the Adirondacks and I look forward to checking them out.

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

Thanks to the publisher for a copy of the novel for review!

1 comment:

  1. This specific rolex replica sale bogus wristwatches can be purchased because of this bogus niche. Unfortunately at the moment I will found any good places to purchase from. However there are some threads if you search for replica watches uk on Google you can find people that are talking about them and some of rolex replica sale threads actually have sellers on there that are supposed to be reputable and will actually send you pictures of the Rolex replica UK you will be getting before they ship it out. Unfortunately I can remember which thread it was I was on but I am sure if you looked it wouldn be hard to find. I will be doing another video soon I got lucky and found another replica on rolex replica store for 80 bucks. And I am also still trying to fix this one the movement that I ordered wound up hublot replica working either.

    ReplyDelete